Search This Blog

Showing posts with label 1st white man in AZ to do farming. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 1st white man in AZ to do farming. Show all posts

Friday, December 23, 2011

Henry William Miller, part 2


Henry William Miller(Author and date of writing are unknown), via Ancestry.com
Henry William Miller was born May 1, 1807, at Lexington, Greene County, New York, and was the fourth child and first son of James Gardner Miller and Ruth Arnold Miller. As a young man, and desiring to accomplish something, he moved west about 1830, and in connection with his brother Daniel A., settled in western Illinois. Here they were joined by their father and younger brother. The younger brother, James David, died August 30, 1839, and therefore enters but little into their history.
Henry W. married Elmira Pond on June 18, 1831, at or near Quincy, Illinois. She was born February 14, 1811, and was the daughter of Thadius and Lovisa Miner Pond. They had moved from Washington County, Ohio, to Adams County, Illinois in 1827. A short time after this his brother Daniel married Lovisa Pond, an elder sister of Elmira. The two brothers operated as partners the greater part of their lives. In Adams County, they built and operated a large mill. About this time Henry W. Miller served in the Blackhawk War.
In the fall of 1839, they joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and upon selling their mill property moved into Hancock County, Illinois. Daniel moved onto a farm four miles from Carthage, and Henry W. Moved into Nauvoo. They now became quite closely identified with the affairs of the Church and referring to page 13 Vol. 4, History of the Church by Joseph Smith, we find that a general conference of the CHurch held October 5, 1839, Henry W. and Daniel A. Miller were appointed elders in the church. On page 294 of this same record, we find that at the general conference of the Church held October 3, 1840, "Henry W. Miller asked for the formation of a stake in Adams County, setting forth the benefits for such a move". At page 233 it recites, -- "October 27, 1840, the Freedom Stake was organized with Henry W. Miller as President." These outside stakes were later abandoned owing to persecution and the people centralized around Nauvoo. It must have been at this time that they disposed of their mill and holdings in Adams County.
At page 342, History of the Church, Vol. 4, "Henry Miller was appointed on a committee to help raise funds for the building of the Nauvoo Temple, General Conference April 8, 1841." On page 424, it recites that Lyman Wight and Henry W. Miller had been called to check up on Almon Babitt, who as presiding elder at Kirtland, Ohio, had been teaching contrary doctrine. They testified against him, and he was disfellowshipped at the General Conference of October 2, 1841, until he should make satisfaction. Prior to this, as per page 311, he had asked through the Prophet Joseph Smith the will of the Lord concerning his property, and he was asked to help build the temple and Nauvoo House. At this time he gave the Church $4,000 (Journal Elmira Pond Miller, Page 7). This was on March 20, 1841.
In the fall of 1841, he was called to go into the pinneries to get out timber and lumber for the Temple and Nauvoo House. Here they went through many hardships due to cold weather and lack of food, being without bread for sometime. (Journal of Elmira Pond Miller, page 7-8).
He left Nauvoo in the spring of 1846, leaving a two story brick house with its furniture and fixtures. Before leaving Nauvoo, he received his endowments in the Nauvoo Temple. He traveled across the State of Iowa and secured a tract of land on its western boundary between the two bluffs, later know as Council Bluffs, then known as Miller's Hollow. Here the old log tabernacle was built and a conference was held on April 6, 1849. The settlement was called Kanesville in honor of Col. Kane. In 1848, Henry W. Miller was the bearer of a petition to the Iowa Territorial Legislature asking for a post office at Kanesville and the creation of Pottawattamie County. (See Life of Wilford Woodruff, pages 327-8) In this he was successful, and quoting from History Pottawattamie County, pages 21 and 94, we find he was elected first representative in the General Assembly of Iowa from that county serving in 1851.
Reading from History Pottawattamie County, page 91 regarding the settlement of Council Bluffs, it has to say: "Henry Miller, a prominent Mormon, squatted on a tract of land . . . which included the ground now occupied by the Pacific House, and the park on Pearl Street. This he sold to Samuel S. Bayless." Kanesville post office was changed to Council Bluffs January 19, 1853, see page 98 History Pottawattamie County. Quoting further from this history, page 98, we read: "The claim bought from Henry W. Miller by Samuel S. Bayless was laid off into town lots west of Main Street, and southward from Broadway on both sides of Pearl Street, including what is now known as "Bayless Park."
Daniel A. Miller and family crossed the plains to Utah in 1848, settling at Farmington, David County.
Henry W. Miller was directed and counseled by President Brigham Young to remain at the Bluffs and assist in raising crops for Church use. In 1850 he made a trip to Utah and back to the Bluffs, returning with Orson Hyde. In 1851 he went back to his old home in New York State visiting relatives. On his return from New York state, James D. Wilcox, a son of his sister Susanna, came with him. In 1852, he left with his family for Utah, acting as Captain of the train. In crossing the plains, the immigrants, Mormon or Non-Mormon, organized themselves into companies over each of which a captain was elected or appointed. The Latter-day Saints were counseled and commanded to do this and their immigrants were always organized into companies with a captain in charge or command. These captains have a multitude of duties the company must at all times be safe from attack, army posts are few, Indians and renegades are numerous the company's health must be protected; it livestock guarded, camp sites with sufficient grass and water must be had; every wagon and every draft animal, ox, mule or horse, has been loaded to capacity; there are hundreds of miles to traverse, grass, water, and wood are not always to be had, particularly water -- the foresight, judgment and care of a company captain has much to do with the welfare of the members.
Upon reaching Utah, Henry W. took up his residence at Farmington, at which place his brother Daniel A. was already residing. In the fall of 1852, Henry W. was elected a member of the Second Legislative Assembly of the Utah Territory, serving in the lower house. He was also elected and served in the Third Assembly (Minutes of Utah Legislature, Vol. 1)
At the General Conference of the Church at Salt Lake City held April 6, 1855, Henry W. was called to go on a mission to the Indian Territory to labor among the Creek, Cherokee and Choctaw nations. On April 14, 1855, he was blessed under the hands of Wilford Woodruff and ? Benson and set apart to preside over this mission. He started on the 1st day of May, his forty-seventh birthday. The forepart of the trip was rough owing to bad roads and stormy weather. Reaching Jacob Croft's place July 4, 1855, which place later became his headquarters, he took up his labors. In less than two weeks they commenced baptizing and organized a branch. Other branches followed and they gathered up many saints who had been led into that country by Lyman Wight. In fact, members of Wight's family including his wife, were baptized by them. In summarizing his work November 9, 1856, he says: "We sent one company of sixty-five souls to the mountains, all whites, which were baptized in the Cherokee nation. Besides there were three branches left, and among them were ten or twelve native elders who had been ordained and were preaching."
Elder Miller's companion, R.C. Petty, died at 2:45 a.m., February 2, 1856. He had been sick most of the time with chills and ague. About a year later, Elder Washington Cook, who succeeded Elder Miller as President, died there also. On November 10, 1857, in company with Elder James Case, he left for COuncil Bluffs. During this winter, he came near to dying of chills and ague, having suffered considerable during this mission. He went back to Quincy, Illinois, visiting relatives and friends. On return he had intended going across Iowa by way of Council Bluffs, but on hearing of the death of Parley P. Pratt, he went by way of St. Louis. Here he was met by Erastus Snow, who said "YOu have come in answer to prayer -- we want you to go into Clay County, Missouri, and buy cattle for us for the trip to the mountains." In May, he started on this trip, passing as a Californian through his disguise, and bought some hundred yoke; delivering them to John Taylor and Erastus Snow at Florence, Nebraska, June 22, 1857. Here a company was organized, and he captained it to Utah, reaching there August 7, 1857.
In the spring of 1858, when the "move" was on to the South, he had charge of all the loose stock of his ward. They stayed until July on Salt Creek just north of Nephi. Before leaving, he and his brother had stored five hundred bushels of wheat in one mill and five hundred bushels in another mill south of the city.
During the spring of 1859, with his brother and Quince Knowlton, they explored Fremont Island, afterward called Miller's Island, in Great Salt Lake. They at once built a boat for carrying sheep and the island became a range for them. In 1860, Davis County was to build a Court House and in his journal, he speaks of receiving the contract, but nothing further is said.
In the spring of 1862, six companies or trains were called to go to the States for immigrants. Henry was called as one of the captains, and his train consisted of forty-seven wagons with four yoke of oxen to the wagon, made up from Cache and Weber Counties. At Black's Fork they laid over for fifteen days building bridges, receiving assistance and timber from Fort Bridger. At Green River, the cattle were forced to swim while the wagons were ferried over. Some oxen were drowned. He returned to Salt Lake City October 17, 1862, the fifth in order (Church Chron. 2nd Ed.) This was his seventh trip across the plains, vix., twice in 1850, once each in 1852, 1855, 1857, and twice in 1862. He acted as Captain on five of these trips, -- thus was he entitled to be and was hereafter called "Captain Henry Miller."
In 1864 he was called to go south to assist in the settlement of the "Muddy Mission", located at the Beaver Dam at the junction of the Beaver Dam wash and the Rio Virgin. The Deseret News of May 24, 1865, refers to a report from Henry W. Miller stating the affairs of the settlement as satisfactory, that fruit trees and grape vines were being planted. Under date of December 24, 1867, James G. Blake, a pioneer (1861) of St. George, writes "Millersburg, founded and presided over by Henry W. Miller, known previously as Beaver Dam, was submerged by a flood in the Rio Virgin destroying the results of well-directed labors in making comfortable homes . . . There had been hardships from the beginning of the settlement, but this visitation caused the place to be abandoned. The same flood laid havoc along the Rio Virgin and Santa Clara Rivers". Owing to this disaster and the INdian troubles, the settlement was abandoned and broken up in 1866, and remained so for nine or ten years. Beaver Dam was about thirty or forty miles southwest of St. George, Utah, and was in the northwest corner of Arizona. Through this settlement, Henry W. Miller is credited with doing the first plowing in the state of Arizona. This is verified by Arizona State History.
From this unfortunate settlement, he went to St. George, where he took an active part in its development, and where he lived until 1885, when he came to Farmington, very much broken in health, and died at the home of his son William on October 9, 1885. He was buried in the Farmington Cemetery by the side of his brother Daniel.
Henry W. Miller was baptized September 1839. He was a member of the high council at Council Bluffs, Iowa. On July 14, 1877, he became a member of the high council of St. George Stake, of which he was a member at the time of his death. He was a director of the Canaan Stock Company (Livestock) of St. George, the Co-op Mercantile Inst., and the Rio Virgin Manufacturing Company (Woolen Mills).

Henry William Miller 1807-1885

Henry William Miller Henry and Elmira


THE LIFE STORY OF HENRY WILLIAM MILLER - via Ancestry.com
Compiled by Arnold D. Miller Jr., his grandson, Transcribed by Douglas B. McKay (doug@kd7lrj.net) 04-05-2010 from a poor photocopy of a hand-typed original. Annotations marked with “[DBM: ...]” From the personal archive of Beverly Rainsdon Larsen (a descendant through Ruth Ann Miller Henry's daughter). Spelling has been standardized. Scanned copy of the original document is attached to Henry William Miller's record on my public Family Tree on Ancestry.com at the following address: http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/1146894/person/-1987702497Also includes annotations marked with “[DH: ...]” (where significant differences were present) taken from another transcription found on the Howarth Family web site (http://home1.gte.net/res06fxh/HWMiller.html – dhowarth@att.net) which included most of the first two pages of the photocopied manuscript. This transcription was credited as: “Arnold D. Miller, Jr., “The Life Story of Henry William Miller,” typescript, LDS Church Archives. Grammar has been standardized.

“Henry W. Miller was born May 1, 1807, at Lexington, Greene County, New York. The fifth child and first son of James Gardner Miller and Ruth Arnold. He was nine years old when his mother died, September 7, 1816. As a young man he learned the trade of carpentry and joiner, which served him well all through life.  When he became of age along with his brother Daniel Arnold, two years younger, he started West. They passed through Chicago when it was just [DH: first] a trading post. 
Here they were employed and did well, aiding them to purchase property farther down state. They finally settled near Quincy, southwest Illinois. Here he purchased land and built a large mill, deeds for same being still among family papers. Here he married Elmira Pond [DH: on June 19, 1831. She was born February 14, 1811, and had come there with] her parents Thadeus Pond and Levisa Miner who had come from Barlow, Washington County, Ohio. When Elmira Miller’s first child was born, September 25, 1832, her sister Clarissa came to take care of her. Here she met Daniel A. and some time later they were married. The two bothers, having married sisters, they have been [DH: were] together working as partners most of their lives, or until 1863 [DH: 1862], when Henry was called south to settle at the Beaver Dam in Arizona. Here he did farm work and is credited as being the first white man to do farming in Arizona, as stated in Arizona history.
When the Mormons were driven out of Missouri, on Governor Boggs exterminating order of October 1838, these unfortunate people found exile in Illinois, and [DH: at] Quincy. Governor Carlin in a public meeting asked the good people of Adams County to assist them. It was during this time that Abel Lamb spoke in their [DH: the Miller] home and his teaching of Mormonism appealed to Elmira Miller, and she asked for baptism  at once. She [DH: Elmira] was of a religious nature, and had wondered if she should marry Henry Miller, as he did not appear religious to her, but said she in her journal, I loved him at first sight. Elder Lamb told her to wait and that her husband would join her, which he did in September 1839. (Vol.1, page 13, Documentary History of the Church, “Henry W. Miller and Daniel A. were ordained elders”. History records that they proved faithful members all through their lives.
James Gardner Miller and his younger son James David came from their home in New York and joined Henry W. and Daniel A. near Quincy Illinois. Here James David died August 30, 1839. As a result of over exertion cradling grain. He left a wife and two daughters and one son, Benjamin. Due to his early passing he enters very little into the Miller history.1807 Henry William Miller Page 2 
On October 27, 1840, a stake was organized in Adams County with Henry Miller as its President. When the Saints began centralizing at Nauvoo, Henry and Daniel sold their mill they had operated at Quincy and moved there. Henry settled at Nauvoo and Daniel on a farm some distance away. They had realized good returns from the sale of their mill and being asked to assist in the temple building at this time, Henry Miller gave the church four thousand ($4,000) dollars towards its construction [DBM: Worth about $2,000,000 today using the nominal GDP per capita formula]. This was March 20, 1841.
 
On his moving to Nauvoo, he was made a member of the building committee of the Temple. In the fall of 1841, he was called to go into the [DH: Wisconsin] pineries and get out timber for the Temple and the Nauvoo House. On this trip they encountered stormy weather. Grandmother relates in her journal how the men had to go ahead of the teams (oxen) and break trails so the oxen would follow. At night they would shovel away the snow, fixing a place to make their beds. During the winter (the family) ran out of provisions and were out of bread for some time. At one time, Hyrum Smith [DH: Joseph Smith] her (Grandmother) [DH: made Elmira] the promise her children should never cry for bread. Through this ordeal, they lived up to this promise. She had cooked and cared for the extra men. But when flour finally came the children asked for dough before it was baked.  
 
James Gardner  Miller died at Nauvoo August. 27, 1845, and just before his death, he was 
ordained a High Priest under the hands of his son Henry W. James Gardner Miller's father was Henry, born in Connecticut, 1744. His wife was Elizabeth Gardner, born 1750, during the revolution, and during this time Henry served as a Sgt. in Saterlees company from Connecticut. (Reference: Cornwall, Military Division page 196, biographical div., page 489.) During the war of 1812-1814 he served under General Ethan Allen, and was Captain under his command. Henry's father, supposedly William, [DBM: actually John] came from Alsac and settled in Boston. (Reference: Note from Jacob Miller [DBM: b. 10 Nov 1772 brother of James Gardner Miller]).
(Note: Reference to James Gardner Miller. He was born March 15, 1771 [DBM: 15 May 1771] at Cornwall, Connecticut in Litchfield County. He married Ruth Arnold there on August 27, 1798 [DH: August 17, 1798] [DBM: 27 Oct 1798]. Their first child was born 7th of March, 1800.
 
Ruth was born July 31, 1768 at East Haddam, Connecticut a daughter of Daniel and Ruth Arnold. Daniel, 1; Gideon, 2; John, 3; Joseph, 4; John Arnold, 5 (1585) in England, came to America and was made a free man at Cambridge, Mass., 1635).
Daniel Arnold was born 1731, son of Gideon Arnold and Abigail Brainard. His wife was Ruth Arnold [DBM: Hale]. They were parents of ten children; seven girls and three boys. He united with the Church, February 14, 1762; died May 27, 1774, aged 43 years. He was elected Deacon November 27, 1771, First Congregational Church of Haddam. His wife was appointed guardian of their children. (Ref; Probate Court records of Middlesex County, Connecticut, vol. 4, [DH: page 66, vol. 3 page 66.])
Gideon Arnold was born at East Haddam, Connecticut., about 1702. He married Abigail Brainard, May 14, 1724. She was born June 18, 1702. He died before June 3, 1772 [DBM: 10 Feb 1772]. His father was John Arnold. (Ref: the two hundredth anniversary of the First Congregational Church of Haddam, October 14-17, 1900, History Catalog of Members of the Church, No. 18). He was a deacon from 1740 to 1772. The Arnold Family by Homer W. Brainard. Transcript, Brochure in the Library of the Connecticut Historical Society. Abigail Brainard was daughter of Elijah Brainard and Mary Bushnell. They were parents of eleven children.1807 Henry William Miller Page 3
John Arnold, father of Gideon, was son of Joseph Arnold and Elizabeth Wakeman. He was born 1664, at East Haddam. We have not been able to determine if his wife was Mercy Hulburt or Hannah Meakin.
Joseph Arnold was born 1625 in England. He died October 22, 1691. He was the son of John and  Susanna Arnold. He was one of the original settlers of East Haddam. Two men in 1662 bought a strip of land from the Indians on both sides of the Connecticut river. This was taken over by twenty-eight settlers, of which he was one. Daniel Brainard was another. The land on the west side was called Haddam, that on the east side was called East Haddam. (Ref: “Haddam and East Haddam” by D.D. Fields, and Connecticut Genealogy, vol. 3, page 1439.)
Here the Arnolds raised their families and they inter-married with the Brainards.  John Arnold was born 1585 in England. He came to America and was made a free man at Cambridge, Massachusetts 1635. He then moved to Hartford, Connecticut and was one of the original proprietors of Hartford in 1639. (Ref: Second Church of Hartford, page 24). He acted on a Church committee, and (page 28 [DH: 48]), Susanna, his wife, was reported in full fellowship. (Connecticut Genealogy, vol. 3, page 1359 [DH: 1349])
When the Saints were driven from Nauvoo February 1847 [DH: 1846], Henry left a two story brick house with its furniture and fixtures. He and Daniel made their way westward across Iowa.  When the battalion was being organized under the directions of Colonel Thomas L. Kane, they both offered their services but the leaders decided it was best for them to remain with the Camp of Israel, which proved to be a wise decision. On reaching the western borders of Iowa, he [DH: William] secured a tract of land on the east side of the river just opposite winter quarters, between the two bluffs, later known as Council Bluffs (see Early days of Council Bluffs by Charles H. Babbit, page 16). Continuing it says; "Henry W. Miller settled a short distance from the Old Block House where a village soon took form and was given the name of Miller's Hollow." It is evident from this that he was a pioneer settler of Council Bluffs. When the apostles 
returned from their pioneer trip to the Salt Lake Valley, Henry Miller, through Brigham Young their  leader, was requested to build a log tabernacle in Miller's Hollow; and in this building December 27, 1847, Brigham Young was sustained as President of the Church, with Heber C, Kimball and Willard Richards as Councilors. (Ref: History of the Church, Vol. 7, page 620-21). 
Eight apostles participated in this meeting. (Compare this with sec. 107, verse 22, Doc. & Cov.)  Henry Miller was the bearer of a petition to the Iowa Territorial Legislature, asking for a Post Office at Kanesville (Miller's Hollow and Kanesville are one and the same place) and the creation of a county. (See Life of Wilford Woodruff, pages 23 [DH: 27] & 28). In this he was successful and Pottawattamie County was created. (Quoting from pages 21-24 and 94 we find he was elected first representative of the General Assembly for the county, 1851). Reading from history of Pottawattamie County page 91 regarding the settlement of Council Bluffs, it has this to say: “Henry Miller, a prominent Mormon squatted [DH: squatter] on a tract of land...... which included the ground now occupied by the Pacific House and the Park on Pearl Street.” This he told [DH: sold] to Samuel S. Bayles. The claim bought from Henry Miller by Samuel S. Bayless was laid off into town lots. January 15, 1893 [DH: 1863]. This included the Pacific House and all lots west of main street and southward from Broadway on both sides of Pearl Street. Including that now known as Bayles Park. Kanesville Post office was changed to Council Bluffs, January 
19, 1853 [DH: 1858]. (See page 98, History of Pottawattamie County). Daniel A. Miller and family crossed the plains to Utah in 1848 [DH: 1847] settling at Farmington, Davis County.  Henry W. Miller was directed and counseled by President Brigham Young to remain at the Bluffs and assist in raising crops for Church use. Grandmother's Journal says it was a good 1807 Henry William Miller Page 4
country and that he did well in crop raising. In 1851 he went to his old home in New York, and on his return, James B. Wilcox his sister Susanna's son came with him. In 1852 he left with his family for Utah, acting captain of the train. In crossing the plains emigrants, Mormon or non Mormons, in that day organized themselves in companies, over each of which a captain was elected or appointed, The Latter-day Saints were counseled and commanded to do this and their emigrants were organized into companies with a captain in charge or command. These captains had a multitude of duties--the company must at all times be safe from attack. Army posts are few. Indians and renegades are numerous. The company's health must be protected it's livestock guarded, camp sites with sufficient grass and water must be had. Every wagon and every draft animal ox, mule, or horses, has been loaded to capacity. There are hundreds of miles to travel grass, water and wood are not always to be had, particularly water. The foresight, judgment and care of the company captain has much to do with the welfare of the members
Upon reaching Utah, Henry W. took up his residence at Farmington, at which place his brother Daniel A., [DH: who had preceded him across the plain,] was already residing.  In the fall of 1852, Henry W. was elected as a member of the second legislative assembly of Utah territory, serving in the lower house. He was also elected and served in the Third Assembly.  (Minutes of the Utah Legislature, vol. II).  In the spring of 1862, six companies or trains were called to go back to the states for emigrants.  Henry W. was elected as one of the captains, and his train consisted of forty-seven wagons, with four yokes of oxen to the wagon, made up by Cache and Weber counties. At Blacksrock, they were over fifteen days receiving assistance from Fort Bridger. At Greenriver, the cattle were forced to swim while the wagons were ferried over. Some oxen were drowned. He returned to Salt Lake, October 17, 1862, the fifth company in order. (Church Carenciligh [DBM: spelling? -can't make out the letters], second edition). This was his seventh trip across the plains, the others being in 1850, 1852, 1855 and 1857. He acted as captain on five of these trips. Thus was afterward called, Captain Henry W. Miller.  Henry W. Miller was called at the April Conference 1855, to open up mission in Indian territory and parts of Texas. It was to this latter place that Lyman Wight (The Wild Man of the Mountains) had led a few of the saints some years before. Henry W. was blessed and set apart as President of this mission, under the hands of Wilford Woodruff. This proved to be a hard mission, as so many of the elders were sick with ague and fever. Two died from its affects.  Reaching Jacob Croft's place, July 4, 1855, which place later became his headquarters, he took up his labors and in less than two weeks commenced baptizing and organizing a branch. Other branches followed and they gathered up many saints who had been led into that country by Lyman Wight. Members of Wight's family including his wife were baptized. In summarizing this work, November 8, 1856 he says: “We went one company of 65 souls to the mountains, all whites, which were baptized in the Cherokee nation. Besides there were three branches left and among them were ten or twelve native elders who had been ordained and were preaching.”  In a weakened condition, Henry W. started for home in November 1856, and on his way back visited his old home and relatives in Quincy, Illinois. On his return to Adams County in the winter of 1856, his journal of Feb 19 records; “He witnessed the marriage of nephew Benjamin Miller, who was the son of his brother James, who had died there in 1839. It was bitter cold winter, and he was week from sickness. His brother-in-law, Allen Pond took him to Quincy, where he took a boat up the Mississippi River to Burlington, Iowa, and stayed there sometime 
with Captain Hawley. He left Hawley's place May 29, 1857 and intended to go across Iowa to Council Bluffs, but hearing of the assassination of Parley P. Pratt, he concluded to go down the 1807 Henry William Miller Page 5
river to St. Louis. On reaching there, he met Erastus Snow and Horace Oldridge, the former said: “Brother Miller you have come in answer to a prayer. We want you to go into Clay County Mo., and buy oxen for the St. Louis Company. You can do it, and I have no one here who could.” The people of Clay County were bitter against the Mormons, and from his dress they took Henry to be a Californian. He wore a long beard, a red shirt, and a belt with a revolver on one side, and a bowie knife on the other. He carried a jug of whiskey in his back pocket to treat them with, then he was all right. He bought one hundred yoke of cattle, and delivered them to John Taylor and Erastus Snow at Florence, Nebraska.  In the spring of 1850, when the move was on to the South, he had charge of all loose stock of his ward. They stayed on Salt Creek just north of Nephi. Before leaving, he and his brother had stored 500 bushels of wheat in one mill and 500 in another mill, south of the city. During the spring of 1858, with his brother and Quince Knowlton, they explored Fremont, afterward called Miller's Island, in the Great Salt Lake. They had at once built a boat for carrying sheep and the island became a range for them. In 1860 Davis County was to build a court house, receiving a contract, but nothing further is said. Henry Miller was called south in 1863 to make a settlement at the Beaver Dam in Arizona. He had married as a second wife in 1862, Fannie Gunn, and it was she he took with him, leaving Elmira at Farmington. Here he did farm work and is credited by Arizona as being the first white man to do plowing in that state. A settlement called Millersbourgh was made there, and later was destroyed by a flood, and he moved to St. George, 
where he took an active part both financially and spiritually. His wife Elmira, and children Sarah Jane and Arnold D. came from Farmington and joined him in St. George. In the spring of 1885, he and his wife Elmira, started north to visit their children, hoping to improve his health. On October 9, 1885, he died at the home of his son William at Farmington, and was buried by the side of his brother Daniel who had died Oc. [DBM: This is where page three of the manuscript ends. According to my records, Daniel Arnold Miller died 4 Dec 1881 in Farmington, Utah]
 
FYI - Kristina Park (blog owner/author)
Henry William Park is buried in Farmington City Cemetery, Davis County, Utah, plot F-54-4.